top of page

The Chakra System

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

A huge part of healing the whole self is understanding the chakra system and how each chakra effects us on a physical, mental, & spiritual level.

So let's dive right in!

What are Chakras?

In Sanskrit, the word “Chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centers in your body. These wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to certain nerve bundles and major organs.

To function at their best, your Chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular Chakra.

There are seven primary Chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head. That said, some people believe you have at least 114 different Chakras in the body, but we focus on the main seven.

Root Chakra (Red)

The Root Chakra, or Muladhara, is located at the base of your spine. It provides you with a base or foundation for life, and it helps you feel grounded and able to withstand challenges. Your Root Chakra is responsible for your sense of security and stability.

A blocked Root Chakra can manifest as physical issues like arthritis, constipation, and bladder or colon problems, or emotionally through feeling insecure about finances or our basic needs and well-being.

When it’s in alignment and open, we will feel grounded and secure, both physically and emotionally.

Sacral Chakra (Orange)

The Sacral Chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button. This Chakra is responsible for your sexual and creative energy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions as well as the emotions of others. Issues with this Chakra can be seen via problems with the associated organs, like urinary tract infections, lower back pain, and impotency. Emotionally, this Chakra is connected to our feelings of self-worth, and even more specifically, our self-worth around pleasure, sexuality, and creativity.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Yellow)

The Solar Plexus Chakra, or Manipura, is located in your stomach area. It’s responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life.

Blockages in the third Chakra are often experienced through digestive issues like ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. It’s the Chakra of our personal power. This means it’s related to our self-esteem and self-confidence.

Heart Chakra (Green)

The Heart Chakra, or Anahata, is located near your heart, in the center of your chest. It comes as no surprise that the Heart Chakra is all about our ability to love and show compassion.

Blocks in our Heart Chakra can manifest in our physical health through heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. But blocks are often seen even more clearly through people’s actions.

People with Heart Chakra blocks often put others first, to their own detriment. It’s the middle of the seven Chakras, so it bridges the gap between our upper and lower Chakras, and it also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, and isolated.

Throat Chakra (Blue)

The Throat Chakra, or Vishuddha, is located in your throat. This Chakra has to do with our ability to communicate verbally.

As one would expect, this Chakra is connected to our ability to communicate verbally. Voice and throat problems as well as any problems with everything surrounding that area, such as the teeth, gums, and mouth, can indicate a blockage. Blocks or misalignment can also be seen through dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you speak because you know you are being true to yourself with your words.

Third Eye Chakra (Indigo)

The Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna, is located between your eyes. You can thank this Chakra for a strong gut instinct. That’s because the third eye is responsible for intuition. It’s also linked to imagination.

Since this Chakra is physically located on the head, blockages can manifest as headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and hearing problems. People who have trouble listening to reality (who seem to “know it all”) or who are not in touch with their intuition may also have a block. When open and in alignment, it’s thought that people will follow their intuition and be able to see the big picture.

Crown Chakra (Purple)

The Crown Chakra, or Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. Your Sahasrara represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe. It also plays a role in your life’s purpose.

The Crown Chakra is linked to every other Chakra (and therefore every organ in this system), and so it affects not just all of those organs, but also our brain and nervous system. It is considered the Chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our life’s purpose and spirituality. Those with a blocked crown Chakra may seem narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this Chakra is open, it is thought to help keep all the other Chakras open and to bring the person bliss and enlightenment.

While you are reading about the various Chakras, it’s possible that one or more jumped out at you, which could mean you are experiencing a blockage related to that Chakra.

Using Reiki, in conjunction with Chakra work, we can identify which area(s) need to be addressed, and through the recommended treatments, we will get you back to feeling your best self. Book A Reiki healing session through the book online link!

Love + Peace


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page